Everything you need to know to pass your driving test

Here we have provided the syllabus from the OFFICIAL DVSA GUIDE to Learning To Drive.

Your driving test will cover a bunch of stuff the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) have identified as the MINIMUM you need to know to get on the road.

What is the driving syllabus?

Driving isn’t only about these things – there’s a lot more you’ll have to learn by yourself after you pass. This driving syllabus is the place to start making sure you’re prepared.

The syllabus sets out a way of teaching people the skills, knowledge and understanding they need to be a safe and responsible car or light van driver.


Who is the learning to drive syllabus for?

  • Learner drivers
  • Full licence holders
  • Driver trainers


The 5 stages of learning a driving skill:

1. Skill introduced

2. Skill carried out with direction

3. Skill carried out when prompted

4. Skill rarely needs to be prompted

5. Skill carried out without any prompting

Once you’re at number 5 consistently in every skill, you’re ready to take your test.

What’s in the driving syllabus?

Click on a topic below to get started.

Please note this syllabus should be used with a professional driving instructor.